Oyegun Given A Life-Line By Ikanya, Ortom And APC NEC

Spread the love

A resolution that was reportedly adopted unanimously by members of the All Progressives Congress National Executive Committee (APC-NEC) has given the current National Working Committee (NWC) an approval to continue overseeing the affairs of the party for another one year in the absence of a valid convention.

The resolution, adopted Monday afternoon at the party’s headquarters in Abuja, could see John Odigie-Oyegun remain the chairman of the party until after the 2019 elections.

Davies Ibiamu-Ikanya, the chairman of APC in Rivers State, moved the five-item resolution. It was seconded by Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State and adopted by NEC members.

It was not immediately clear why there were no dissenting voices prior to the adoption of the resolution, which appears to favour Mr Odigie-Oyegun.

Mr Odigie-Oyegun and other members of the current NWC had previously secured a nod to extend their tenure by one year due to a myriad of internal squabbles in some state chapters. The members also said the extension would help the party minimise the crisis that holding elections in troubled states could throw up.

But the February 27 plan was scuttled after President Muhammadu Buhari withdrew his support and said it would be better if the party conducts congresses across the country. The president believes doing so would save the party legal troubles ahead of general elections.

The president’s turn-around was seen as a capitulation to Bola Tinubu, a former Lagos State governor and prominent party leader, who has been pushing hard to ease Mr Odigie-Oyegun out of office.

But with the latest decision by NEC, it seems the APC has returned the decision of holding the congress for elective positions to Mr Odigie-Oyegun.

Looks like Tinubu, Oshiomole and others are still very far from reaching their aim and this goes to a large extent to see how Tinubu has lost control of APC.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *